Resources for the Epistle to the Hebrews


I’m compiling a list of resources on the book of Hebrews. This post will serve as a repository for those items as I find commentaries/audio/etc.

Commentaries Online

AW Pink Hebrews Commentary

Commentaries Recommended by FF Bruce

A critical and exegetical commentary on the Epistle to the Hebrews (1924) – James Moffatt

The Epistle to the Hebrews (1903) – Brooke Foss Westcott

The Greek Testament: Volume 4 (1878) – Henry Alford

Commentary Used for RBS Hebrews Class

William Lindsay’s Lectures on the Epistle to the Hebrews, Volume 1
William Lindsay’s Lectures on the Epistle to the Hebrews, Volume 2

John Owen’s Commentary

Hebrews Commentary Volume 1

Hebrews Commentary Volume 2

Hebrews Commentary Volume 3

Hebrews Commentary Volume 4

9 thoughts on “Resources for the Epistle to the Hebrews

    • Pastor Jeffery –

      I’m not limiting the references to those freely available. I was looking at Bruce yesterday and wondered if I could find all of his recommendations online – that gave me the idea to start a compilation, but I’d like to expand it to include anything that is useful. I value any advice you have because I’ve seen some of your notes from a sermon in Hebrews and it was very helpful and detailed!

      Andrew

  1. If that is the case, then perhaps the greatest work ever written in the English language (or any other for that matter) on the treatise to the Hebrews was the 7 volume work by John Owen. This is freely available at the following sites. Note: I have placed these in the order of perceived usefulness (ease of use, accessability, etc.):

    1. The Essential Owen at http://theessentialowen.com/owens-hebrews-commentary/ [accessed 1 SEP 2014].

    2. Internet Archive at https://archive.org/search.php?query=title%3A%28Hebrews%29%20AND%20creator%3A%28Owen%2C%20John%29 [accessed 1 SEP 2014].

    3. Bible Explore at http://www.godrules.net/library/owen/owen.htm#exposition-epistle-hebrews [accessed 1 SEP 2014].

    • Excellent. I’ll move the best link up into the main post as soon as I get a chance.

      How could any reference list on Hebrews leave off Owen?!

      I think that if I make a list of references recommended by AW Pink, Owen would be at the top…

      • I have read extensive portions of the seven volumes while preaching through Hebrews, and on other occasions for both exegetical and doctrinal reasons. I could not in good conscience just leave those volumes on the shelf on those occasions given Owen’s unparalleled mastery in handling the Scriptures. He doesn’t just answer questions that I might have. Owen asks questions I never thought of, and reasons his way to solutions in ways that are humbly persuasive. He “schools” me in how to get at the meaning of the Scriptures in ways that no other author ever has in my experience.

Leave a Reply

