How’s Your Greek?


When we consider the dubious authority claimed by pulpeteers who reference the original language to prop up their novelties, it does one well to consider how far we’ve fallen in language education. Consider the following, which I gleaned from the following blog this morning (Laudator Temporis Acti):

Thomas De Quincey:

I was sent to various schools, great and small; and was very early distinguished for my classical attainments, especially for my knowledge of Greek. At thirteen I wrote Greek with ease; and at fifteen my command of that language was so great that I not only composed Greek verses in lyric metres, but could converse in Greek fluently and without embarrassment…and which in my case was owing to the practice of daily reading off the newspapers into the best Greek I could furnish extempore; for the necessity of ransacking my memory and invention for all sorts and combinations of periphrastic expressions as equivalents for modern ideas, images, relations of things, &c., gave me a compass of diction which would never have been called out by a dull translation of moral essays, &c. …

One thought on “How’s Your Greek?

  1. Pingback: In the Original Greek… « Abraham's Seed

Leave a Reply

